California Arrearage Payment Program

Woman reading computer, resting head on hand

What is the California Arrearage Payment Program Bill Credit?

The California Arrearage Payment Program, or CAPP, is a state program to help pay customers’ eligible past due energy utility bills that increased during the COVID-19 pandemic. 

CAPP reduces qualified customers’ unpaid energy bills by directly applying a bill credit to their energy bill. 

Customers do not need to apply for CAPP and assistance will be disbursed by state utility companies electing to participate in CAPP.

CAPP bill credits are courtesy of the State of California and are targeted to help utility customers that fell behind on their energy bills because of the economic impacts of the COVID-19 pandemic.

Customers may qualify for a CAPP credit if they had an unpaid energy utility bill over 60 days past due incurred between March 4, 2020 and June 15, 2021.​

How will I know if I qualified for CAPP?

Energy utilities that apply for and receive CAPP funds are responsible for distributing CAPP benefits to eligible utility customers. 

Customers that qualify for a CAPP benefit will automatically receive a credit on their energy utility bill. 

The credit will be labeled one of the following:

  • “California Arrearage Payment Program Bill Credit” 
  • “Cal. Arrearage Payment Program Credit​”
  • “CAPP Credit.” 

Customers may also be notified through another statement from their energy utility. Energy utility customers don’t need to apply to receive a CAPP credit. Energy utilities apply on behalf of all eligible customers. Eligibility for a CAPP benefit and the amount of a bill credit will vary depending on the utility and program rules.​

If you have questions about your CAPP benefit or your eligibility status, please contact your energy utility's customer service department.​​

Click here for the CAPP Utility Customer Service Contact List

Questions for the Department of Community Services and Development may be directed to (866) 675-6623.​​​

What if I still owe money on my energy bill after CAPP?

Under CAPP, your energy utility company is required to offer payment plans to customers with a remaining balance after a CAPP benefit has been applied to their account. 

Contact your energy utility to learn about payment plans and other programs that may be available to help you pay your bill and reduce your energy costs.

In addition to CAPP, the State of California may also be able to help through the following programs:

​​​CONSUMER PROTECTIONS

CAPP provides a number of consumer protections for customers that are eligible to receive a CAPP benefit. 

​Utilities that receive CAPP funding are required to:

  • Not disconnect customers with arrearages accrued during the COVID-19 pandemic bill relief period (between March 4, 2020 and June 15, 2021​) while CSD reviews and approves all pending CAPP applications.

  • Waive late fees and accrued interest for customers awarded a CAPP benefit.

  • Not disconnect a CAPP recipient’s utility service for 90 days after a CAPP benefit is applied, regardless of the balance owed.

  • Notify customers of the option to enter into an extended payment plan, with late fees and penalties waived, if they received CAPP benefit and have a remaining balance aft​er that benefit is applied.​

 

 

Paying My Energy Billshttps://www.csd.ca.gov/Pages/Assistance-PayingMyEnergyBills.aspxPaying My Energy Bills/PublishingImages/Pages/Home/Newest%20Thermostat%20v1.png
Community Serviceshttps://www.csd.ca.gov/Pages/Assistance-CommunityServices.aspxCommunity Services/PublishingImages/Pages/Home/CSBG%20Blue.png
Home Energy Efficiencyhttps://www.csd.ca.gov/Pages/Assistance-HomeEnergyEfficiency.aspxHome Energy Efficiency/PublishingImages/Pages/Home/Energy%20Efficiency%20green%20thick%20outline%20(1).png
Farmworker Housing Energy Efficiency & Solar PVhttps://www.csd.ca.gov/Pages/Farmworker-Housing-Component.aspxFarmworker Housing Energy Efficiency & Solar PV/PublishingImages/Farmworker-Housing.png

CSD Supporting Page